Linux Mint 2½ years on…

mint

Having now put Linux Mint on both my Laptops and our desktop system, you can probably predict that I am more than happy with this Operating System.

Not for us the horrors of Windows 7/8/10 privacy issues and compatibility headaches, or the hardware and cost issues of MAC OS10, we, my friend, are sorted!

Looking back on the 30 months of being a Linux Mint User, there have been teething problems, but the solution is usually easily found and doesn’t take the 1-2 hours of fiddling that Windows always took me (your milage may vary).

The inexorable drive towards making “all we do, we do in a browser” simplifies life for all computer users.  I must admit if I was starting from scratch I’d now buy a small chromebook for a portable option (great battery life and start up time), Linux Mint at home, and Android on all my smaller devices for compatibility, Chromium and Android are based on Linux in any case, so it all feels right.

The most time consuming part of changing to a different OS is finding comfortable substitutes for all your best loved pieces of software. For instance I had been using the same text editor for probably 20 years or more, and much of what I did with it and other software was in my muscle memory, I hardly had to think about how it worked, I could concentrate on getting tasks done.

The most important transition as a Google Chrome user was to transition to the Linux Chromium browser, which is a different “fork” but is pretty much the same in functionality.
This is because Mint comes with Firefox as standard, and whilst I like Firefox, I am signed up to many of the Chrome extensions and I just like the way it works.
[I have now started to use Opera as well, with built in VPN it’s pretty good when you need extra access/security]

“Kate” ( http://www.kate-editor.org ) is now my text editor of choice, and “Clementine”
( http://www.clementine-player.org/ ) my preferred music player, but having now signed up to Deezer.com that may become a legacy program too.

LibreOffice works just fine and so mostly I use the software that comes with the Mint distro.

I would recommend anyone who has an old laptop that can’t take the newer Windows versions to experiment with Mint, I predict if you do you’ll have a pleasant surprise, and you’ll at least have a machine that you can allow visitors to use with the confidence that it’s very difficult to break anything!

 

Leave a Reply

